Reflecting on “Aspergers Traits (Women, Females, Girls)”

"Reflection"

“Reflection”

This is one of the posts I read right after my self-diagnosis.  It is a post that still brings tears to my eyes when I read it again, because it accurately and eloquently describes so much of my life experiences and struggles.  It is one of the best pieces I’ve found in my process of reflecting on and re-framing my past.  I hope that you will take the time to read it – if you’re an Aspie, you may feel self-awareness and solidarity; if you are not, you may feel a new sense of understanding and empathy.  (Because despite all of the talk about autistics and empathy, I find most NTs lack empathy towards autistics!)

I could comment on every point she makes, but this is one that stands out to me as extremely validating; it describes one of the biggest social struggles I faced as a kid:

We aren’t narcissistic and controlling–we know we are not, but we come across that way. We bring the subject back to ourselves because that is how we make sense of our world, that is how we believe we connect. We use our grasp of the world as our foundation, our way of making sense of another. We share our feelings and understandings in order to reach out. We don’t mean to sound ego-centered or over zealous. It’s all we know. We can’t change how we see the world. But we do change what we say. We hold a lot inside.

Without further ado, here is the link:

Click here to read “Aspergers Traits (Women, Females, Girls)” on Everyday Aspergers

Leave a comment